The 2024 T20I World Cup: ICC Prepares for Historic Event

3 Min Read

The International Cricket Council (ICC) is gearing up for the highly anticipated T20I World Cup in 2024. Despite being scheduled for the following year, the ICC is ahead of its plans to ensure a seamless and hassle-free tournament.

Hosted by West Indies and USA

The upcoming competition will be co-hosted by the West Indies and the United States of America (USA), with matches set to take place across ten venues from June 4 to June 30, 2024. This historic occasion will mark the first time an official ICC World Cup event will be held in the United States.

England: Reigning Champions

England currently holds the title as the reigning champion, having won the trophy in 2022. Both England and host West Indies have been among the most successful teams in the competition, securing two titles each.

Expanded Tournament Format

The 2024 T20I World Cup will feature an increased number of participants, with twenty teams qualifying for the event compared to the previous edition’s sixteen. These teams will be divided into four groups, each containing five teams. The top two teams from each group will advance to the Super 8 stage.

During the Super 8 stage, the eight qualifying teams will be split into two groups, each comprising four teams. The top two teams from both groups will proceed to the Semi-Finals, with the winners of the Semi-Final matches competing for the championship in the Final.

Regional Qualifiers and Qualified Teams

The remaining eight slots in the matches will be filled by teams that emerge victorious in the regional qualifiers, which will be organized by the ICC. Europe, Asia, and Africa regions have been allotted two slots each, while the East-Asia Pacific Region and the Americas region have been awarded one slot each.

The teams qualified for the T20I World Cup are West Indies and USA as hosts, along with Australia, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Scotland (from the Europe Qualifier), Ireland (from the Europe Qualifier), Papua New Guinea (from the East-Asia Pacific Qualifier), and four teams yet to be determined from the Asia, Africa, and Americas Qualifiers.

Share This Article
Leave a comment